Apology

February 19, 2008 wordsinpr

I was driving home the other day and heard something that is very rare. It was an apology. It was a sound bite on the radio, and it was just a straight up apology. There were no excuses, just, “I am sorry.” I thought it was surprising to hear such a thing, and quite refreshing. Before liabilities and such came to be, people used to take responsibility for their actions. It is rare for people to apologize publicly anymore, even if it is their fault.

This got me to thinking about Public Relations. Is it not better to apologzie for something that your organization did wrong, than do lie about it and try to forget it ever happened? Whatever happened to integrity? It was nice to hear in this day in age, that people still do apologize for things. I think we all should do it more often.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joseph Wilburn&hellip  | 

    I definitely agree. I had a recent work issue where an apology would have (and should have) been made but all I got was a “thanks for your understanding.” I would have been more forgiving if an apology would have been made for sure.

  • 2. catherinevanessa&hellip  | 

    I love hearing the words “I am sorry”. But saddly, I have heard these these words over and over again at a mind numbing rate. After a while it looses meaning. But it is a breath of fresh air when someone goes out of there way to apologize….and that to me means the world. Now if only everyone else in this world was well versed on the power of manners. What a place this would be.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829